News Menu


back Back to Latest News

9th Annual Apprentice and Long Service Awards

» 8th October 2013


Friday 4th October 2013 saw the Derry Building Services 9th Annual Apprentice and Long Service Awards.

At an intimate ceremony, consisting of friends and family members of the award winners, Mr John Kirkland, Group Chairman, awarded those who have showed real dedication to their studies over the course of their apprenticeships.


This year’s apprentice role of honour included;

Joe Thornton-Ford - Stage 1 Electrical Apprentice of the Year

Josh Corley - Stage 2 Electrical Apprentice of the Year

Joe Dudley - Stage 3 Electrical Apprentice of the Year

Josh Wisbey - Stage 4 Electrical Apprentice of the Year

Andy Baxter - Mechanical Achievement

Chris Makin - Mechanical Apprentice of the Year


An additional congratulation was given to Chris Makin who went into the record books to become the first apprentice ever to win Mechanical Apprentice of the Year for each consecutive year of his 4 year apprenticeship.

Ben Coope an Electrical Contracts Engineer who completed his apprenticeship last year also received recognition for his achievements in the National Apprenticeship Awards after winning the East Midlands Regional Finals - Advanced Apprentice of the Year 2013.


Steve Burley, Director, said;


‘All of our trainees are of a very high standard so it is always difficult to single individuals out. However, this year’s winners demonstrated qualities worthy of personal recognition showing outstanding academic and practical performance during the year. It was a great pleasure to congratulate them all and to welcome members of their family and friends to the presentation who were clearly very proud of their achievements’.

This year Chris Makin has been awarded the Mechanical Apprentice of the Year for the 4th Year in a row; an accolade that he should be incredibly proud of. He has shown exemplary commitment to his studies throughout his apprenticeship and without doubt has an incredibly bright future ahead of him with the company.

Also recognised at the ceremony were six members of staff who have served with the company for 10 years. Each were given a bottle of champagne and a pair of champagne flutes as a small thank you for their commitment and dedication.


David Burley - Quantity Surveyor

Mark Jex - Mechanical Craftsman

Ashley Marshall - Electrical Design Engineer

Graham Nicholson - Electrical Site Supervisor

Simon Palmer - Senior Mechanical Contracts Engineer

Paul Sharman - Design Manager

back Back to Latest News

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our websiteView Privacy Policy