News Menu


back Back to Latest News


» 18th October 2010

Four of our electrical apprentices and two mechanical apprentices attended the 6th Annual Awards Presentation at Derry Head Office on Friday 25th November, along with their families and Group Chairman, Mr John Kirkland, where each received an engraved plaque and a £50 tool voucher.


The awards were set up to recognise the efforts of our apprentices and particularly the ones that have shown an outstanding ability and attitude.


Mr Kirkland presented each with their gift and personally congratulated them commenting, “It is always a pleasure to come to Derry Building Services to attend a presentation such as today’s, which recognises personal effort and achievement. The training of an apprentice requires the involvement and commitment of our site based craftsmen, the training providers JTL and BEST, the colleges in which they attend, and members of their own family.

It is a testament to these people and yourselves that you are here today, my sincerest congratulations to all of you – we are all very proud”


The Apprenticeship Winners and Categories are:


Electrical Apprentices

Mechanical Apprentices

Ben Coope

Stage 1 Electrical Apprentice

Jack Lowe

HVCA/BEST Achievement Award

Joe Wright

Stage 2 Electrical Apprentice

Chris Makin

HVCA/BEST Mechanical Apprentice of The Year

Lance Dyer

Stage 3 Electrical Apprentice



Grant Smith

Stage 4 Electrical Apprentice





External Awards


Our apprentices not only receive recognition for their achievements from the company, many receive external awards and in 2010 we have had three winners in the following categories:




Lance Dyer

The Fred Bank’s Trophy

David Rowbotham

BEST/HVCA Intermediate Apprentice of The Year

Leighton Kirk

ECA/Edmundson Award

back Back to Latest News

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our websiteView Privacy Policy